15th Association Challenge – 2019


Brandon Starts out strong, just holds on!!

This year, the Association Challenge travels to Brandon, hosted by the Brandon Tenpin Bowling Association. Next in the rotation is the trip to Dauphin for 2020.  A fun tournament with only bragging rights and a plaque with the winning Association’s bowler’s names on it up for grabs.

T-Birds Fun Food Games was the venue this year. Thanks to Trevor Peters and the staff for the excellent service they provided and an awesome meal that was enjoyed after bowling.

A big shout out to Len Howell, Jody Scott, Ron and Geri Molinski as the only bowlers who have participated in all the challenge matches thus far.

Wally Matskiw and Ted Smuland donated gift cards that were handed out for High Game or Series awards. Additionally, the BTBA purchased 6 gift cards and 8 tins of cookies were donated and awarded randomly through a draw for bowlers. Lastly there was a 50/50 draw that became 33/33/33 draw with Ted Smuland and Julie Scott being drawn for cash prizes.

The tournament ran well and everyone had fun with a lot of great games and series.

Congratulations to the following bowlers that received either MLCC or Canadian Tire gift cards.
High Game Scratch – Rudy Von Hertzberg 256, Helen Fenk 200
High Game Hdcp – Jack Kukurudz 272, Geri Molinski 262
High Series Scratch – Marshall Nykoluk 1039,  Tracy Scott 833
High Series Hdcp – Len Howell 1115, Tamara Bagnall 1148

The low game of the tournament was 112 and the high game was 256.

After supper the results were announced and with the slender margin of 8 pins, BRANDON CAPTURED THE TITLE and bragging rights for the year.

Congratulations to everyone!!!

Winnipeg Team Members
Team 1 – Ron Molinski, Wanda Howard, Geri Molinski, Dan Tereck
Team 2 – Helen Fenk, Tamara Bagnall, Lynda Seewald, Marshall Nykoluk

Dauphin Team Members
Team 1 – Jack Kukurudz, Angela Kukurudz, Ralph Piasta, Julie Scott
Team 2 – Jody Scott, Ray Lebel, Tracy Scott, Jason Kindlein

Brandon Team Members
Team 1 – Amanda Matskiw, Bob Freeman, Kim Karlicki, Derek Radics
Team 2 – Sandy Vanderhulst Len Howell, Rosa Van De Mosselaer, Rudy Von Hertzberg


Teams Brandon 1 Brandon 2 Dauphin 1 Dauphin 2 Winnipeg 1 Winnipeg 2
Gm 1 792 995 960 838 850 897
Gm2 856 906 852 849 836 859
Gm3 947 856 812 816 896 858
Gm4 772 889 858 900 804 856
Gm5 772 852 818 797 879 894
Total 4139 4498 4300 4200 4265 4364
Grand Total 8637 8500 8629

L-R: Amanda Matskiw, Len Howell, Rosa Van De Mosselaer, Kim Karlicki, Sandy Vanderhulst, Derek Radics, Rudy Von Hertzberg, Bob Freeman

L-R: Dan Tereck, Helen Fenk, Geri Molinski, Ron Molinski, Lynda Seewald, Marshall Nykoluk, Tamara Bagnall, Wanda Howard

L-R: Ralph Piasta, Tracy Scott, Jody Scott, Jason Kindlein, Julie Scott, Ray Leb el, Jack Kukurudz, Angela Kukurudz